

#### **GELLIGAER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Gelligaer Community Council held at 7.30pm on Wednesday 23<sup>rd</sup> May 2018 at the Council Office, Llwyn Onn, Penpedairheol.

#### **PRESENT**

Councillors: C M Bezzina, D Cushing, S E Griffiths, W Griffiths, M James, T H Matthews,

S.A Milford, R E Osborne, T Parry & J A Pritchard.

Clerk: C Mortimer

In Attendance: Police Officers CO304 Rees and 1367 Ellis

Prior to the annual meeting commencing Police Officers CO304 Rees and 1367 Ellis arrived unannounced at the meeting and were permitted to give a verbal update to members. In summary there were no changes in figures but that could all change during the summer. Dispersal ordes remained in place. est purchasing of alcohol had been undertaken and additional officers were patrolling on Fridays and Saturdays. Youth Outreach teams were preparing tournaments for summer. Ride along schemes were also permitted whereby public can accompany police for the day. Due to an already stretched service it was agreed that Clerk would write to the Police Commissioner Jeff Cuthbert inviting him to a future meeting.

The Police Officers were thanked for their update and subsequently left the meeting.

Retiring Chairperson Cllr Martyn James chaired the first item of business.

## 1 Elect a Chairperson of the Council for 2018/19

(i)Resolved: Cllr Alan Angel was proposed and seconded and unanimously elected as Chairperson for the ensuing year

Cllr Martyn James was proposed and seconded and unanimously voted to chair the next item of business.

#### 2 Appoint a Vice-Chairperson of the Council for 2018/19

- (i) Resolved: Cllr Judith Pritchard was proposed and seconded and appointed as Vice Chairperson for the ensuing year.
- (ii) Cllr Judith Pritchard signed and dated the Acceptance of Office in the presence of the Clerk/Proper Officer

Vice Chair Cllr Judith Pritchard took to chairing the meeting.

## 3 Retiring Chairman's Comments

Cllr Martyn James had enjoyed his year in office and thanked his fellow members and clerk for their support and working together in delivering our projects. He presented the clerk with a bouquet of flowers as a token of their gratitude. The clerk in turn thanked the members for their continued support and commitment.

**Apologies –** were received from Cllr A Angel due to being unwell, Cllr C David and Cllr W David

#### 5 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest

#### 6 Minutes

Minutes of the Annual Meeting which was held on 17<sup>th</sup> May 2017 and approved and duly signed as an accurate record at the Ordinary Full Council Meeting on 21st June 2017, were received and noted.

#### 7 Documents & Policies for 2018/19

**Resolved:** Policies and documents i-vi were received and adopted for the ensuing year.

- i. Standing Orders for 2018/19
- ii. Gelligaer Community Council Policy Document for 2018/19 a member requested that meetings start at 7.00pm especially during autumn and winter months. It was agreed that this item be deferred to the June meeting for further consideration.
- iii. Financial Regulations & Amendments
- iv. Asset Register the clerk was thanked for her work in preparing this document.
- v. Risk Management
- vi. Retention Policy

The following policies vii – xx were adopted in May 2017 and remain unchanged. **Resolved:** Members agreed to continue to adopt policies vii – xx until 2021/2022 (unless changes are required and/or changes to legislation).

- vii. Anti-Bribery, Fraud and Corruption Policy
- viii. Anti-Harassment and Bullying Policy (Dignity at Work)
- ix. Capability Policy
- x. Complaints Policy
- xi. Data Protection Policy (adopted in April 2018) *Training in GDPR will be arranged for community councillors*.
- xii. Disciplinary Rules
- xiii. Disciplinary Procedure
- xiv. Equality & Diversity Policy
- xv. Grievance Procedure
- xvi. Health & Safety Policy
- xvii. Pay Policy
- xviii. Sickness Absence Policy & Procedure
- xix. Social Media Policy
- xx. Special Leave of Absence Policy
- xxi. Stress Management

A member requested that an adoption leave policy be tabled for a future meeting following CCBC's revision of the policy, which has yet to be completed.

## 8 Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

Nominations were invited on the outside bodies.

**Resolved:** The following appointments were agreed for 2018/19:

## Caerphilly Borough Community & Town Council's Liaison Committee

Cllr Judith Pritchard & Cllr Richard Osborne & Ceri Mortimer

# <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council (CCBC) & Community/Town Council's Joint Liaison</u> <u>Committee</u> – Cllr Judith Pritchard (Cllr R Osborne as reserve) & Ceri Mortimer

- One Voice Wales Cllr Teresa Parry & Ceri Mortimer (Cllr D Cushing as reserve)
- One Voice Wales RCT/Merthyr/Caerphilly Area Committee

Cllr Judith Pritchard (Cllr Richard Osborne & Ceri Mortimer as reserve)

### • Minor Authority Representative on the Board of Governors:

Hengoed Primary School – Cllr Judith Pritchard (from Jan 2018)

Y G G Bro Allta – Cllr Donna Cushing from May/June 2018

Derwendeg Primary School - Vacancy exists - deferred

Glyngaer Primary School – Cllr William Griffiths from May 2017 \* hard copy agenda required (Glyngaer – 3 full governors meetings a year – Thursdays at 4.30pm)

Greenhill Primary School – To reinstate Cllr William Griffiths from May/June 2018 \* hard copy agenda required.

(Greenhill – 3 full governors meetings a year – Thursdays at 3.45pm)

(Mr T Matthews is a local authority governor at Greenhill)

Tiryberth Primary School – Mrs Jessica Alfonso from May 2017

(Tiryberth – 6 full governors meetings a year – Mondays at 4.30pm)

Ystrad Mynach Primary - Vacancy exists - deferred

(Ystrad Mynach – 3 full governors meetings a year – Mondays at 4.15pm)

(Mrs Cerys Sage is a Community Governor at YM Primary School)

Y G G Penalltau – Mr Gwyn Thomas (until 24th April 2020)

Y G G Gilfach Bargoed – Vacancy exists - deferred

# <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council's Town Centre Management Group for</u> Ystrad Mynach

Cllr Richard Osborne, Cllr Judith Pritchard & Ceri Mortimer (Cllr A Angel & Cllr Martyn James as YM County Councillor reps <u>plus</u> Cllr D Cushing & Cllr T Parry as Hengoed County Councillor reps).

## • Community Centres Management Committees

Cascade Community Centre – Cllr Christine David
Cefn Hengoed Community Centre – Cllr Judith Pritchard
Gelligaer Community Centre – Cllr William Griffiths
Glan y Nant Memorial Hall – this is an independent facility not owned by CCBC
Hengoed Community Centre – Cllr Judith Pritchard
Penybryn Village Hall – Hefin David AM
Tiryberth Village Hall – Cllr Christine David

## 9. Cycle of Meetings for 2018/19

The proposed cycle of meetings were agreed:

Date / Day: Wednesday	Meeting Type	
27 <sup>th</sup> June 2018	Full Council	
25 <sup>th</sup> July 2018	Full Council	
August	RECESS	
26 <sup>th</sup> September 2018	Full Council	
24 <sup>th</sup> October 2018	Full Council	
28 <sup>th</sup> November 2018	Full Council	
12 <sup>th</sup> December 2018	Full Council	
23 <sup>rd</sup> January 2019	Full Council	
27 <sup>th</sup> February 2019	Full Council	
27 <sup>th</sup> March 2019	Full Council	
24 <sup>th</sup> April 2019	Full Council	
22 <sup>nd</sup> May 2019	Annual & Full Council	

<b>G</b>		
	Signed:	Chairman

Meeting closed.