

GELLIGAER COMMUNITY COUNCIL Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Gelligaer Community Council held at 7.30pm on Wednesday 18th May 2016 at the Council Office, Llwyn Onn, Penpedairheol.

PRESENT

Councillors: A P Angel, D Bolter, D Cushing, W David, W Griffiths, G Hughes, M James, T Matthews, T Parry, J A Pritchard & G Roberts. Clerk: Ceri Mortimer

Chairman, Cllr Teresa Parry chaired the meeting until her successor was duly appointed.

1 Elect a Chairman of the Council

Nominations for the Chairman of the Council were invited. Cllr Donna Cushing was nominated and seconded and unanimously voted as Chairman for the ensuing year, 2016/17.

i. Chairman Cllr D Cushing duly signed the Acceptance of Office in the presence of the Clerk/Proper Officer.

The newly elected Chairman, Cllr Donna Cushing, chaired the meeting

2 Elect Vice-Chairman of the Council

Nominations for Vice Chairman were invited. Cllr Martyn James was nominated and seconded and unanimously voted as Vice Chairman for the ensuing year, 2016/17.

i. Vice Chair Cllr M James duly signed the Acceptance of Office in the presence of the Clerk / Proper Officer.

3 Apologies

Apologies were received from Cllr Hefin David due to work commitments.

4 Minutes

Members noted the minutes of the Annual Meeting that was held on 13th May 2015, which were approved and duly signed as an accurate record at Full Council Meeting on 24th June 2015.

5 Documents & Policies for 2016/17

RESOLVED: Members received and adopted the following documents & policies for the ensuing year.

 Code of Conduct – The Local Authorities (model Code of Conduct) (Wales) (Amendment) Order 2016 (no.2016/84)

ii. Standing Orders for 2016/17

iii. Gelligaer Community Council Policy Document for 2016/17

iv. Financial Regulations

One Voice Wales have recalled the most recent model financial regulations that were to be adopted by Council, as there were a number of technical references in the regulations that needed to be changed to make the regulations Wales specific.

Therefore Council agreed to continue to adhere to our current Financial Regulations that were adopted in June 2015.

- v. Asset Register
- vi. Risk Management
- vii. Anti-Bribery, Fraud and Corruption Policy
- viii. Anti-Harassment and Bullying Policy (Dignity at Work)
 - ix. Capability Policy
 - x. Complaints Policy
 - xi. Disciplinary Rules
 - xii. Disciplinary Procedure
- xiii. Equality & Diversity Policy
- xiv. Grievance Procedure
- xv. Health & Safety Policy
- xvi. Pay Policy
- xvii.Sickness Absence Policy & Procedure
- xviii. Special Leave of Absence Policy
 - xix. Stress Management

6. Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies for 2016/17

Members received and considered nominations for representatives on outside bodies RESOLVED: Members agreed the following representatives on outside bodies for the ensuing year:

- <u>Caerphilly Borough Community & Town Council's Liaison Committee</u> Cllr Teresa Parry, Cllr William Griffiths and Ceri Mortimer
- <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council (CCBC) & Community/Town Council's Joint Liaison</u> <u>Committee</u> – Cllr Teresa Parry & Ceri Mortimer
- <u>One Voice Wales</u> Cllr Teresa Parry (Cllr Donna Cushing as reserve) plus Clerk
- One Voice Wales RCT/Merthyr/Caerphilly Area Committee
 Cllr Judith Pritchard & Cllr Donna Cushing plus Clerk
- Minor Authority Representative on the Board of Governors:

Hengoed Primary School – Cllr Teresa Parry (until June 2016) Y G G Bro Allta – Cllr Teresa Parry (until June 2016) Derwendeg Primary School – Cllr Donna Cushing (until Nov 2018) Glyngaer Primary School – Cllr William Griffiths (until Dec 2016) Greenhill Primary School – Vacancy exists (following Mr Roger Bevan's recent exit) Tir y Berth Primary School – Mr Michael Thorn (until Nov 2017) Ystrad Mynach Primary – Mrs Cerys Sage (until Dec 2016) Y G G Penalltau – Mr Gwyn Thomas (as of April 2016) Y G G Gilfach Bargoed – Cllr Gethin Roberts (from June 2016)

- <u>Emergency Planning</u> Cllr Judith Pritchard & Ceri Mortimer
- <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council's Town Centre Management Group for</u> <u>Ystrad Mynach</u> – C Mortimer to continue to attend (ex-officio) (Cllrs: A Angel, M James, D Bolter & J Pritchard to attend as CCBC's representatives)
- <u>Community Centres Management Committees</u> Respective ward members to attend their own:

Cascade – Cllr Wynne David Cefn Hengoed – Cllr Donna Cushing Gelligaer – Cllr William Griffiths Glan y Nant Memorial Hall – Cllr Wynne David Hengoed – Cllr Teresa Parry Pen y Bryn Village Hall – Cllr Hefin David (as agreed on 2/4/2015) Tir y Berth – Cllr N Quarry

7. Cycle of Meetings for 2016/17

Members were requested to consider the proposed cycle of meetings. RESOLVED: Members accepted the proposed cycle of meetings and noted in an election year the annual meeting must take place on the day when councillors take office or within 14 days thereafter. It was therefore accepted that the Annual Meeting of the newly elected Council take place on 17th May 2017.

22nd June 2016	Full Council
20th July 2016	Full Council
August	RECESS
21st September 2016	Full Council
19th October 2016	Full Council
16th November 2016	Full Council
7th December 2016	Full Council
18 th January 2017	Full Council
22nd February 2017	Full Council
22nd March 2017	Full Council
12 th April 2017	Full Council
17 th May 2017	(New Council following Elections 4 th May 2017) Annual & Full Council

The meeting closed at 8:00 pm

Signed: _____ Chairman