#### **GELLIGAER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

Minutes of the ANNUALCOUNCIL MEETING (HYBRID) of Gelligaer Community Council held on Wednesday 26<sup>th</sup> May 2021, 7.00pm in a hybrid format at the Youth Centre Cefn Hengoed in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021.

#### **PRESENT**

**Councillors**: A Angel\*, D Cushing, C David\*, W David\*, W Griffiths, M James, T Matthews, A McCarthy, S Milford\*, T Parry, J Postians and J Pritchard.

Clerk: C Mortimer

Retiring Chair Cllr Judith Pritchard welcomed everyone to the meeting especially our newest member Cllr Mandy McCarthy serving the Ystrad Mynach Ward. Everyone introduced themselves in turn. Cllr Judith Pritchard chaired the first item of business:

# 1 Elect a Chairperson of the Council

- (i) Cllr Donna Cushing was proposed, seconded and unanimously elected as Chairperson for the ensuing year
- (ii) Cllr Donna Cushing promptly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Newly elected Chair Cllr Donna Cushing chaired the meeting

# 2 Elect a Vice-Chairperson of the Council

(i) Cllr Alan Angel was proposed, seconded and unanimously elected as Vice Chairperson for the ensuing year

# 3 Retiring Chairman's Comments

Retired Chair Cllr Judith Pritchard was elected as Chair serving two terms of office due to the pandemic. It had been a challenging year in so many respects, conducting meetings remotely being one of them.

Cllr Judith Pritchard had enjoyed awarding the Community Champion Awards to some very worthy people for their commitment to serving and supporting local people throughout the pandemic: Patrick Ryan, Zoe Ryan and Annie Evans for coordinating and distributing food through Cefn Hengoed Youth Centre Fareshare and Judith Climer and Kevin Thomas doing the same through Trinity Church, Ystrad Mynach Foodshare. Another initiative was the opening of a food bank in Cascade Community Centre by Nigel Bear Davies and Pastor Steve Darby for recording an Armistice and Carol Service involving the local community and schools. Jamie Davies was also awarded for his great effort in litter picking in Ystrad Mynach, in all weathers and continues to do so.

Cllr Judith Pritchard as our representative attended every One Voice Wales Area Committee Meeting, the Community & Town Council Liaison Committee (C&TC LC) Meetings and the Caerphilly Public Service Board Meetings as the C&TC LC's elected representative throughout the pandemic.

4 Apologies - Apologies received from Cllr Carmen Bezzina due to bereavement leave.

## 5 Declarations of Interest

Councillors were reminded of their personal responsibility to declare any personal and/or prejudicial interest(s) in respect of any item of business on this agenda in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000, the Council's Constitution, and the Code of Conduct for both Councillors and Clerk. There were no declarations of interest.

**6 Minutes** - Minutes of the Annual Meeting that was held on 25th November 2020, and approved and signed as an accurate record at our Ordinary Council Meeting held on 16th December 2020 were received and noted.

<sup>\*</sup> denotes remote attendance

#### 7 Documents & Policies for 2021/22

**RESOLVED:** Council received, noted and adopted the following policies and documents for the ensuing year.

- A. Standing Orders
- B. Gelligaer Community Council Policy Document
- C. Financial Regulations & Amendments
- D. Asset Register
- E. Risk Management

The following policies were adopted in May 2017 (apart from F, U & V) and remain unchanged. **RESOLVED:** Members agreed to continue to adopt until changes are required and/or there are changes in legislation.

- F. Retention Policy adopted May 2018
- G. Anti-Bribery, Fraud and Corruption Policy
- H. Anti-Harassment and Bullying Policy (Dignity at Work)
- I. Capability Policy
- J. Complaints Policy
- K. Disciplinary Rules
- L. Disciplinary Procedure
- M. Equality & Diversity Policy
- N. Grievance Procedure
- O. Health & Safety Policy
- P. Pay Policy
- Q. Sickness Absence Policy & Procedure
- R. Social Media Policy
- S. Special Leave of Absence Policy
- T. Stress Management
- U. Habitual/Vexatious Complainant adopted February 2021
- V. Publication Scheme adopted February 2021

#### 8. Appointment of Internal Auditor

**RESOLVED:** Council agreed the appointment of CIPFA qualified Accountant, Mr Michael Fisher, to undertake our audit for 2021/22.

## 9. Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

**RESOLVED:** Nominations were invited agreed on the following outside bodies:

- <u>Caerphilly Borough Community & Town Council's Liaison Committee</u>
   Cllr Judith Pritchard & Cllr Donna Cushing & Ceri Mortimer are to continue
- <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council (CCBC) & Community/Town Council's Joint Liaison Committee</u>

Cllr Judith Pritchard (Cllr Donna Cushing as reserve) & Ceri Mortimer are to continue.

## One Voice Wales

Cllr Teresa Parry & Ceri Mortimer (Cllr D Cushing as reserve) are to continue.

One Voice Wales – RCT/Merthyr/Caerphilly Area Committee
 Cllr Judith Pritchard, Cllr Alan Angel (Ceri Mortimer as reserve) are to continue

## Caerphilly Tourism Association

Cllr Martyn James and Ceri Mortimer

# • <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council's Town Centre Management Group for</u> Ystrad Mynach

Cllr Judith Pritchard & Ceri Mortimer are to continue (Cllr A Angel & Cllr Martyn James as YM County Councillor reps <u>plus</u> Cllr D Cushing & Cllr T Parry as Hengoed County Councillor reps).

## Community Centres Management Committee Representatives:

Cascade Community Centre – Cllr Christine David

Cefn Hengoed Community Centre – Cllr Judith Pritchard

Gelligaer Community Centre- Cllr William Griffiths

Glan y Nant Memorial Hall - this is an independent facility not owned by CCBC

Hengoed Community Centre – Cllr Judith Pritchard

Penybryn Village Hall - Hefin David MS

Tiryberth Village Hall - Cllr Christine David

## Minor Authority Representative on the Board of Governors:

Hengoed Primary School – Cllr Judith Pritchard (from Jan 2018) \*\*ADDENDUM Cllr Judith Pritchard (from December 2021)

Tiryberth Primary School – Cllr Jodie Postians (from Dec 2019)

Derwendeg Primary School – Cllr William Griffiths (from May 2021)

Ysgol Penalltau – Ms Lisa Williams (from October 2020)

Ystrad Mynach Primary - Mr Andrew James, parent governor Chair is Cerys Sage

Y G G Bro Allta - Cllr A McCarthy (from May 2021)
Chair is Ian Watkins

Greenhill Primary School – \*\* ADDENDUM Cllr W Griffiths (from Nov 2021)

Glyngaer Primary –\*\* ADDENDUM Ms Hazel Minney (from Nov 2021) Chair is Dave Cook

10. Cycle of Meetings for 2021/22 RESOLVED: Members agreed the following cycle of meetings for the ensuing year:

Date / Day: Wednesday	Meeting Type
23rd June 2021	Ordinary Full Council
28 <sup>th</sup> July	Ordinary Full Council
AUGUST	RECESS
22 <sup>nd</sup> September 2021	Ordinary Full Council
27 <sup>th</sup> October 2021	Ordinary Full Council
17 <sup>th</sup> November 2021	Ordinary Full Council
8th December 2021	Ordinary Full Council
19 <sup>th</sup> January 2022	Ordinary Full Council
23 <sup>rd</sup> February 2022	Ordinary Full Council
23 <sup>rd</sup> March 2022	Ordinary Full Council
20 <sup>th</sup> April 2022	Ordinary Full Council
18 <sup>th</sup> May 2022	ANNUAL & Ordinary Full Council (Local elections Thurs 5 <sup>th</sup> May)

Meeting	Closed	at 7.45pm
---------	--------	-----------

Signed:	Chair Date: 23 <sup>rd</sup> June 2021
Olgiloa.	Olidii Dato. Eo Galio Ede