#### GELLIGAER COMMUNITY COUNCIL

Minutes of the ANNUAL Full Council Meeting held on Tuesday 17th May 2022 7.00pm at Gelligaer Community Council Office in a MULTI-LOCATIONAL format in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021.

#### PRESENT

**Councillors**: A Angel, R Bevan, G Bruford, R Callison\*, A McCarthy\*, M James, C Moss, H Pritchard. J Pritchard and R Stone.

Clerk: C Mortimer

\*Denotes remote attendance.

Cllr Judith Pritchard welcomed everyone to the meeting and chaired the first item of business in the absence of the retiring Chair Cllr Donna Cushing.

# 1 Elect a Chairperson of the Council

- (i) REOLVED: Councillor Martyn James was unanimously elected as Chair.
- (ii) Cllr Martyn James signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chair

Chair Cllr Martyn James thanked members for electing him as chair and promised to serve all communities to the very best of his ability.

# 2 Elect a Vice-Chairperson of the Council

(i) RESOLVED: Cllr Teresa Parry was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

## 3 Apologies

Apologies were received from Cllr D Cushing, Cllr T Parry and Cllr W Matthews due to holidays.

#### 4 Declarations of Interest

Councillors were reminded of their personal responsibility to declare any personal and/or prejudicial interest(s) in respect of any item of business on this agenda in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000, the Council's Constitution, and the Code of Conduct for both Councillors and Clerk.

There were no declarations received.

#### 5 Minutes

Minutes of the Annual Meeting that was held on 26<sup>th</sup> May 2021 and which were received, approved and signed as an accurate record on 26<sup>th</sup> June 2021 Minute no.26 were further corrected "There were <u>no</u> declarations...".

## 6 Documents & Policies for 2022/23

RESOLVED: Council reviewed the following policies and adopted for the ensuing year.

- A. Standing Orders
- B. Gelligaer Community Council Policy Document
- C. Financial Regulations & Amendments
- D. Asset Register
- E. Risk Management
- F. Biodiversity
- G. Climate Change Statement and Pledge

RESOLVED: Council agreed to continue to adopt the following policies approved by One Voice Wales (OVW) until such time a review is necessary due to changes in circumstances and/or legislation etc.

- H. Anti-Bribery, Fraud and Corruption Policy
- I. Anti-Harassment and Bullying Policy (Dignity at Work)
- J. Capability Policy

- K. Code of Conduct (for your information only)
- L. Complaints Policy
- M. Disciplinary Rules
- N. Disciplinary Procedure
- O. Equality & Diversity Policy
- P. GDPR
- Q. Good Councillors Guide (for your information only)
- R. Grievance Procedure
- S. Health & Safety Policy
- T. Model Local Resolution Policy
- U. Pay Policy
- V. Precept & Budget 2022/23 (for your information only)
- W. Retention & Disposal Policy
- X. Sickness Absence Policy & Procedure
- Y. Social Media
- Z. Special Leave of Absence Policy
- ZA. Stress Management
  - (ii) Received and noted background papers on outside bodies:
  - (a) Charter between all 18 Community and Town Councils in the Caerphilly borough and Caerphilly County Borough Council.
  - (b) One Voice Wales summary of their representation and membership
  - (c) Education Achievement Service (EAS) Introduction for Prospective School Governors
  - (d) Town Centre Management Committee please see email from P Hudson.

# 7. Appointment to Committees/Working Groups

(i) Personnel Committee

Cllrs M James, C Moss, T Parry, H Pritchard and J Pritchard.

Cllr Rhianwen Callison lost connectivity and was no longer at the meeting.

#### 8. Appointment of Internal Auditor

RESOLVED: Council agreed to continue with the appointment of CIPFA qualified Accountant, Mr Michael Fisher, to undertake our audit for 2022/23.

## 9. Signatories

(i) Unity Trust Bank

RESOLVED: Council is agreed to Cllr H Pritchard and Cllr M McCarthy as online banking signatories along with current signatories Cllr Donna Cushing and Cllr Teresa Parry. C David is to be removed.

(ii) Lloyds Bank

RESOLVED: Council agreed that due to increased on-line banking the and council seldom writing cheques, current signatories will remain: Cllr Alan Angel, Cllr Martyn James, Cllr Teresa Parry and Cllr Judith Pritchard.

### 10. Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

Nominations are invited on the outside bodies:

# • Caerphilly Borough Community & Town Council's Liaison Committee

Cllrs Catrin Moss, Rhiannon Stone and Clerk

# • <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council (CCBC) & Community/Town Council's Joint</u> Liaison Committee

Cllr Catrin Moss (Cllr Rhiannon Stone as reserve) and Clerk.

2

#### One Voice Wales

Cllr Teresa Parry & Clerk (Cllr Donna Cushing as reserve)

# • One Voice Wales – RCT/Merthyr/Caerphilly Area Committee

Cllr Catrin Moss (Cllr Alan Angel & Clerk as reserve)

# • Minor Authority Representative on the Board of Governors:

Tenure for a Minor Authority Governor is 4 years.

Hengoed – Cllr Judith Pritchard 19/01/2022 – 18/01/26 YGG Penalltau – Lisa Williams 7/10/2020 - 6/10/2024

Ystrad Mynach Primary School – Andrew James 11/12/2020 - 10/12/2024 (transferred from a parent to a MA rep)

Glyngaer - Hazel Minney 17/11/2021 - 16/11/2025

Bro Allta – A McCarthy 1/5/2021 - 30/4/2025

## RESOLVED: Council agreed nominations on the following:

Derwendeg Primary School – Cllr Gaynor Bruford May 2022 Greenhill Primary School – Cllr Wyndam Matthews May 2022 Tiryberth Primary School - vacancy exists – item deferred.

# <u>Caerphilly County Borough Council's Town Centre Management Group for</u> Ystrad Mynach – item deferred whilst awaiting further information from CCBC.

(Last year was Cllr Judith Pritchard & Ceri Mortimer)

(Cllr A Angel & Cllr Martyn James as YM County Councillor reps <u>plus</u> Cllr D Cushing & Cllr T Parry as Hengoed County Councillor reps).

#### Community Centres Management Committees

Cascade Community Centre – Cllr Judith Pritchard
Cefn Hengoed Community Centre – Cllr Gaynor Bruford
Gelligaer Community Centre – Deferred
Glan y Nant Memorial Hall – this is an independent facility not owned by CCBC
Hengoed Community Centre – Cllr Judith Pritchard
Penybryn Village Hall – Deferred
Tiryberth Village Hall – Cllr Rhiannon Stone.

# 11. Cycle of Meetings for 2022/23 (to start at 7pm)

Members are requested to consider and agree the cycle of meetings for the ensuing year:

Date / Day: Wednesday	Meeting Type	
29th June 2022	Ordinary Full Council	
27 <sup>th</sup> July 2022	Ordinary Full Council	
AUGUST	RECESS	
21st September 2022	Ordinary Full Council	
19 <sup>th</sup> October 2022	Ordinary Full Council	

23rd November 2022	Ordinary Full Council	
14th December 2022	Ordinary Full Council	
25 <sup>th</sup> January 2023	Ordinary Full Council	
22 <sup>rd</sup> February 2023	Ordinary Full Council	
22 <sup>nd</sup> March 2023	Ordinary Full Council	
19 <sup>th</sup> April 2023	Ordinary Full Council	
17 <sup>th</sup> May 2023	ANNUAL & Ordinary Full Council	

Signed:	Chair	Date: 29 <sup>th</sup> June 2022